Sifting Snow

Posted by: tnoll

Sifting Snow - 12/20/05 05:30 PM

What is the best way to sift snow over your trap? I have seen a few posts That talked about making a large wooden spoon just wondered what some other techniques might be. This is my first time at land trapping in the snow.
Posted by: skinner69

Re: Sifting Snow - 12/20/05 08:13 PM

I use my dirt sifter to sift snow.Throw in a clump and use your hand to grate it back and forth over the mesh.This works well if your using snow with a crust on it,powder snow will work good also,the wet packy snow doesn't sift to well.It tends to pack to the inside of the sifter and clog up the mesh.
Posted by: tnoll

Re: Sifting Snow - 12/20/05 08:30 PM

Skinner69, thats kinda what I thought also just use my sifter but then I thought maybe the snow would stick and wouldn't go through. I'm going to give it a try this year just never trapped in the snow.Like I said I did see posts on using this big spoon but I will be walking some distance and less to carry is better. Thanks for the Info.
Posted by: Paul Fox

Re: Sifting Snow - 12/21/05 01:38 AM

I just use my dirt sifter.Works fine for me.
Posted by: J Severing

Re: Sifting Snow - 12/21/05 02:57 AM

quick tip on sifting snow, keep your sifter in the cold, not in the warmth of your vehicle, dont use your hands to handle the snow while you sift, use your sifter to scoop the snow up with and sift from higher up, so the snow, has a chance to let the cold air freeze dry the snow, for lack of better wording on its way back down.

another tip is unless you have an extended cold front forcasted, its not worth diddling around sifting snow, as you will be spending more time being frustrated with crusted trap beds than its worth, better off with methods and sets that are a little more maintenance user time friendly in freeze and thaw conditions....jim
Posted by: musher

Re: Sifting Snow - 12/21/05 11:31 AM