Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Archives

General Trapping Archives

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#16035 - 12/27/09 05:47 PM Off Location?
Orvis_Battenkill Offline

Loc: Pa
I was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice. I am new to trapping been at it for about a month getting out is great and i have put some miles on. I am enjoying learning and i am an addict already. I just cant seem to catch a target animal i had a coyote pull out my first week in a super location big clearcut now the spot went dead, what was tons of coyote tracks and sightings in deer season has gone dead.

I decided to go for some coon a little simpler I covered about 2 miles of stream yesterday i found one set of coon tracks coming out of a dead tree going to the stream in a marsh i put two pocket sets in. Is it possible that i just dont have the location right? I have no farms but do have some road side grown up fields. What would be good locations for coon in an enviroment with no agriculture. We got a 25 degree warm up yesterday and i figured the coons would put some tracks in the snow but i came up empty this morning. And why has the 200 acre clear cut gone dead so soon? I have been reading and watching videos but none of the locations described in both look like any of the areas i am able to trap.

(edit spelling, redsnow)

#16036 - 12/29/09 01:05 AM Re: Off Location?
Dktfireman Offline
Member+

Loc: New Hampshire
Are you trapping a woods road thru the clear cut or just where you saw tracks in the cut over area? If I walked a creek for 2 miles and only saw one set of coon tracks I wouldn't even set a trap unless that was the only spot I had to trap and it was easy to get to. I would leave it as seed stock for couple of years from now.
Dan smile

#16037 - 12/29/09 05:19 AM Re: Off Location?