Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Archives

General Trapping Archives

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#16587 - 11/08/06 09:00 PM Re: Monitoring a Freezer
NEA Trapper Offline

Loc: arkansas
I'm no appliance expert but, I do manage an appliance, electronic, and home furnishings store. I just recently purchased a 15 cu.ft. chest freezer. Prior to buying it I wanted to make sure that it would work properly outside. I
once heard our service repair man say that keeping an auto defrost freezer outside would cause cooling problems in the winter. Hal you are correct in your findings. Also, reading in a GE owner's manual it reads that its best not to keep the freezer's in areas where the tempature can get above 110 F or below 0 F.
Mark
~Hope everyone has a great season~

#16588 - 11/09/06 12:24 AM Re: Monitoring a Freezer
K. Sullivan Offline

Loc: Northern Ohio
I started this thing about freezers not working properly in cold temperatures. My freezer, that was not working in cold weather, IS NOT an auto defrost. When I first contacted the company I bought the freezer from, and told them the problem, they told me that you could not put all freezers in sub freezing conditions, which appears to be the case with mine.

#16589 - 11/09/06 01:50 AM Re: Monitoring a Freezer
jwr Offline

Loc: ark
Quote:
I believe these alarms are battery powered, at least I would hope so.
Mine are electric with battery back up. If the power is off for 4 hours it will let you know. If the temp gets above 25 it will let you know.

I bought that type because I run several freezers on 1 circuit.

I said I have "alarms on all my freezers", I actually have 1 alarm and wired it to all my freezers.

#16590 - 11/10/06 12:45 AM Re: Monitoring a Freezer
RiverOtter Offline

Loc: Monashee Mtns, British Columbi...