Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Help

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Topic Options
#1718 - 10/22/14 02:47 PM Pan Cover Question
ron finewood Offline

Loc: palmyra, new york
Background:
I have never used pan covers before but I am trying them this year on selective sets, to help with the problem of rain washing the dirt covering beneath the pan. I bought a hunk of the black, fiberglass window screen, made a template and cut out about 50 screens to fit my Bridger #2's.
Question:
Do I still pack dirt INSIDE the jaws? or just OUTSIDE the jaws and then cover the screen?
Also ---- the screens are 5" X 6.5" with a cutout for the dog. The black fiberglass screen is quite flimsy.

#1719 - 10/23/14 05:58 AM Re: Pan Cover Question
musher Offline

Loc: Qc.
I do not want to be a kill joy, but I used that type of screening many years ago and was not happy with the amount of dug up traps I had.

I do not know if it was a contamination problem or a bedding one. I do know that waxed paper, instead of thin screening, solved the digging issue.

Try a few and see how they work for you. I would consider NOT setting all my traps with thin screening until you see how they perform.

Let us know how things turn out.

BTW: Stiff screen is a different story. It acts like a giant pan.

#1720 - 10/23/14 07:50 AM Re: Pan Cover Question
ron finewood Offline

Loc: palmyra, new york
Musher: Thank you. I will try a few sets with my flimsy screen just to see the results. With the stiffer, metal screen, that acts like a "giant pan", wouldn't that make for more toe catches? I messed up 2 years ago and put some #3 pans on #2 coilsprings and encountered that very problem. I changed them back. My thought with using screen was to let the rain flow through the covering. With waxed paper, won't the rain still wash the covering off the pan?

Ron