Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Archives

Land Animals and Trapping Archive

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Topic Options
#4561 - 01/26/01 05:49 PM how do you make a cubby set
M.Creek Offline

Loc: Charleston,Tn. U.S.
I am new to trapping and i never heard of a cubby set and I noticed you guys always refer to that set when trapping bobcats and thats my target animal.

#4562 - 01/27/01 05:46 PM Re: how do you make a cubby set
Jack Turner Offline

Loc: Harrison, Ohio
I was hoping that someone else would answer this because they could probably describe it better than I. A cubby is no more than a set made of wood or rocks where the bait is "stored" inside. Some cubbies have only one entrance and the trap is set in front of it. Others have two entrances and a trap is positioned on both ends. I like cubbies for mink along streams/creeks. I place fish in the middle and have a trap on both ends. Cubbies are good for almost any furbearer that will enter a confined space, bobcat included. Now that I've responded you may get someone to describe it better. Hope this helps a little.

#4563 - 01/28/01 09:44 AM Re: how do you make a cubby set
lynx/cat-trapper Offline

Loc: Twin Falls,Id.