Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Help

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#24697 - 04/04/17 07:45 PM Getting rust off of old traps
Randy Sheckles Offline

Loc: Strawberry Point Iowa United S...
Would like to get some simple easy ways to get rid of rust on traps and the easiest dependable way to dye traps. I have heard of some soaking traps in white vinegar for a couple of days then power washing the rust right off, but anyway my ears are open. Thanks!!!

#24698 - 04/04/17 08:14 PM Re: Getting rust off of old traps [Re: Randy Sheckles]
Hal Online   content

Loc: Blue Creek, Ohio, USA
I've heard of a vinegar soak, but I have no experience. Anybody?

The easiest way to dye traps is to boil them in the dye solution. But if the traps aren't rusty the dye won't take.

Hal

#24699 - 04/04/17 10:02 PM Re: Getting rust off of old traps [Re: Randy Sheckles]
ron finewood Offline

Loc: palmyra, new york
I have soaked new traps in a vinegar solution, which does remove the factory oils. Then, I toss them on the ground, under an evergreen tree for a few weeks to get some rust on them. The dye still does not take well the first year. I do not know if the vinegar solution will remove caked on rust--however, I always boil all traps in a hot solution of water and "The Works" drain cleaner, and that removes everything! Most of the crud floats to the top and I keep filing the pot until the crud overflows and the water in the pot is clear. Then I remove all the traps, hose them off and start the dye process, in the same pot, after scrubbing it out. It has become an early September ritual.

Ron

#24704 - 04/05/17 03:44 PM Re: Getting rust off of old traps [Re: Randy Sheckles]
Randy Sheckles Offline

Thanks for the help Gentlemen!!!

#24705 - 04/06/17 11:07 AM Re: Getting rust off of old traps [Re: Randy Sheckles]