Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Help

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#25853 - 02/15/18 07:11 PM Alt Bait and lures
P-Trap Offline
Initiate Member

Loc: Red River Co. Texas
Hi Y'all, I'm new to trapping. Santa brought me 3 #4 Bridger dbl longsprings and 2 Z-trap DPs. I'm targeting coons,cats,and coyotes to help the deer and turkeys. I'll trap north east Texas.
I don't have a trap supply nearby but wanted to get started.
I have frozen squirrel, rats,and mice so I'll try that first.
My question is about Thai fish sauce as a lure. It's fermented anchovy and stinks to hi heaven. Has any one used such stuff? Do yotes, cats, and coons like rotten fish stink? And if so,would catfish bait be good as well?

#25854 - 02/16/18 08:03 AM Re: Alt Bait and lures [Re: P-Trap]
Ric Online   content

Loc: Wellington,OH=USA
Fish is attractive to most predators. So I don't see why your fish sauce would not be attractive to Coyote and Raccoon. That said ,I would question how long the odor would last exposed to the elements without the compounds actual lures employ for that purpose.
Fish itself is a suitable bait but goes from attractive to eat to attractive to roll in rapidly if not preserved.

Put some sauce on a cotton ball and leave it out in the sun for a couple days. I you can still smell it, they certainly can. You may need to re-lure more often but it will get you started

If it's going to work, a bit of it on a LURE HOLDER with a chunk of rodent and your Thai hole set should be complete.

DP's set them RIGHT ON TOP of raccoon sign. Commercial cat food works as well as anything if domestic animals aren't an issue

Edited by Ric (02/16/18 01:09 PM)
Edit Reason: spelling

#25855 - 02/17/18 08:49 AM Re: Alt Bait and lures [Re: P-Trap]
just Offline
Initiate Member

Loc: Henry co Iowa