Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Help

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Topic Options
#26411 - 12/21/18 01:15 AM Scat ID help
gman Offline

Loc: New York
I'm wondering if this is bobcat scat. Thanks for any reply's

#26412 - 12/21/18 01:27 AM Re: Scat ID help [Re: gman]
Utk1 Offline

Loc: S.E. Kentucky
That’s what it looks like to me. See any other old white dropping nearby with small bones in them? But I’m not a poop expert.

Edited by Utk1 (12/21/18 01:28 AM)

#26413 - 12/21/18 02:17 AM Re: Scat ID help [Re: Utk1]
gman Offline

Originally Posted By: Utk1
That’s what it looks like to me. See any other old white dropping nearby with small bones in them? But I’m not a poop expert.

None that I saw but I wondered why it didn't cover it up. I'm trying to catch my first bobcat. I came across it this morning while scouting out a new area. I've read that I should set on sign. That's why I'm hoping it is from a bobcat. Thanks for your help Utk1.

#26414 - 12/21/18 01:59 PM Re: Scat ID help [Re: gman]
redsnow Online   content

Loc: WV
Hmmm, hard to tell. Looks about the right thickness for a cat turd.

Not sure, but is that some kind of 2-track or 4 wheeler trail?

Just looking at the ground, it's too rocky for a cat to cover up it's crap. New York, end of December, that almost looks like frost or a little dab of snow around those rocks.

Here thinking, I don't recall ever seeing a place where a bobcat has ever dug, like at a mouse or Chipmunk hole.

I do remember finding where a bobcat took a crap on a tree stump, and covered it up with snow. It had it's turd covered good, but that's what was under that little pile of snow.

#26415 - 12/21/18 02:27 PM Re: Scat ID help [Re: gman]
Hal Offline

Loc: Blue Creek, Ohio, USA
Bobcats are not house cats, they don't cover their droppings in most instances.

Originally Posted By: redsnow