Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Archives

Land Animals and Trapping Archive

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Topic Options
#2803 - 12/31/10 01:54 PM Fisher Trapping
Phesnt Offline

Loc: NH
As the NH season closes I am dumbfounded. This is my first year so my expectations were low but not this low. I was able to score a fisher on the third day on a leaning pole set with beaver meat as bait and "gusto" as a call lure. I had 8 to 12 traps in three different areas with no results. As of late I have had tracks right to the pole where one even urinated under the pole. We got a lot of snow at the beginning of the week and that seemed to slow all movement down for a few days. I also had cubbies with 160's in them with no results. I figured the fisher that wouldn't commit to the pole would try the cubby. Any suggestions for next year???

#2804 - 01/05/11 01:35 PM Re: Fisher Trapping
HotFoot Offline

Loc: New Hampshire
Refusal to climb the pole is not uncommon. I rub the beaver bait along the pole before attaching it above the trap, and also apply fish oil (the rancid stuff)to the pole. You might consider freshening up your bait if it has dried out, or switch to a different type (fish, venison, etc..)
Good Luck!

#2805 - 01/06/11 03:17 AM Re: Fisher Trapping
Dktfireman Offline
Member+

Loc: New Hampshire