Please observe our rules: No profanity. No flaming. No commercial messages. No personal messages please.

Trap Line Archives

Land Animals and Trapping Archive

Trap Line Home   Trap Line Forum   Trap Line Help   Trap Line Photo   Old Hollow Blog   Archives
Topic Options
#3447 - 02/02/07 05:34 PM size and placement of snare loops for coyotes
Steve Gilliland Offline

Loc: Kansas
How big and how far above the ground do you make and set snare loops for coyotes. I finally seem to have my location right, but today fresh coyote tracks went down a trail and right through the snairs at 2 locations. I'm very frustrated! HELP!!

#3448 - 02/02/07 06:50 PM Re: size and placement of snare loops for coyotes
wv trapperjohn Offline

Loc: WV
Im new to the use of a snare but the guy who showed me has caught alot of yotes in snares and he showed me to set them 8 or 9 inches off the ground and a 9 to 10 inch loop.Seems to work real good for him. I just put mine out so we will see how my luck goes with them

(Edit..Please no second hand information..Ric)

#3449 - 02/02/07 06:57 PM Re: size and placement of snare loops for coyotes
archer01 Offline

Loc: N.E. Penna.
The bottom of the loop should be 10" to 12" off of walking surface. I make a 12" loop. Load it so that it is round or kidney shaped. NOT tear dropped.

Best to set in the middle of a trail, not at the beginning of a transition. Like at the edge of a road. Let him get moving along the line 25 or 30 yards.

The best place is where they are trotting along going somewhere. Not where they are hunting, or sleeping.
somewhere in between. long straight trails are what to look for.
After awhile you will see them. Most people don't.
It's hard to explain. Ever get on your knees to look across a field
and find the easyest way to do it.

If a trail is good for one snare make two or three.

Don't set on the horizon. dips and low spots work better.

Blend a little if you can. Don't go over board.